Our trustees

Governance and Management of Pennine Heritage

The members of the Council of Management serve in a voluntary capacity, receiving no remuneration for their work.  They serve in a dual capacity as trustees and council members. The minimum number of council members is 5 and the maximum is 15.  Decisions on key issues are made at trustees meetings.

The members of the Council of Management are:

David E Fletcher (President) MBE, MSc, BSc

Former Head of Environmental & Geographical Dept. Manchester Polytechnic, Metropolitan University.

Countryside Commissioner

Rural Development Commissioner

HLF Yorkshire Regional Committee

Current : Restoration and adaptive re-use of Hebden Bridge Mill including conversion to sustainable renewable energy.

Judith Schofield (Chair)

Employed by Valuation Office Agency (HMRC), 1967 – 1978; 1999 – 2013; Retired April 2013.

National Trade Union Representative, Council member and Chair for Prospect VOA between 1999 and 2013.

Qualified as a Chartered Surveyor Jan 1971

BSc (Env Man) 1999

Committee member, Secretary and Chairman of Littleborough Civic Trust 1979 – 2000

Trustee to Pennine Heritage early 1990 to present

Director to South Pennines Rural Regeneration Company, (Pennine Prospects) 2005 to present.

Chair, Cragg Vale Community Association, 2015 to present

 Steve Boyle (Vice-chair)

Steve has a degree in Archaeology and an MA in Cultural Studies. He worked in Local Government for over 30 years in Housing and Regeneration. He retired from the post of Chief Regeneration Officer at Leeds City Council in late 2011.

He has lived in Cragg Vale since 1989 and is a keen walker, with an interest in local history and geology.

He became a trustee in 2015.

David Trevor Shutt – The Rt Hon Lord Shutt of Greetland, OBE, PC, FCA.

David is a British Liberal Democrat politician. He served as Captain of the Yeomen of the Guard and as Deputy Chief Whip in the House of Lords between May 2010 and May 2012.

Chartered Accountant.

Polly Webber

Director of Alternative Technology Centre, Hebden Bridge since early 1990s.

Barbara Atack

Phil Kennedy

Director of Real Cider Company, Hebden Bridge since 2006

David Greensmith

 The Finance and Operations Sub-committee (FOSC)

In July 2015, the Council of Management appointed an Executive Committee, chaired by the Pennine Heritage Chair, with 3 additional members and a secretary.  The committeechanged it’s name to the Finance and Operations Sub-committee in 2020 but it’s role is still to develop and oversee the delivery of all Pennine Heritage Business Plans.  It meets on a monthly basis and reports to the Council of Management.